//
Noise Pollution is Good for You
1981, Chas 'n' Dave, Novelty, Pop, Rock, Tottenham Hotspurs FC

04. Something for the Weekend: Chas and Dave (feat. Tottenham Hotspurs FC) “Ossie’s Dream”

Tottenham Hotspurs FC "Ossie's Dream" (1981)

I’m not a football fan – well, not a television fan by any stretch.

As much as it is a fun game to to play, football on television bores me; alas my current working environment has me surrounded by football fan, whereas I am the only motorsports fan within a country mile of me.
When one also takes into account my unwavering love for tea, it means that I am essentially a migrated version of Mrs Doyle – the fact that I am not too far from either West Ham or Millwall does not ease my mood.

Something that has been drilled into me rigidly in the last few days (apart from the General Election) is the news that the FA Cup Final is fast approaching and while that in itself doesn’t bother me too much, there is a distinct sadness that football teams do not do cup final songs anymore.
They were often fun, cheesy, unbearable and probably penned by Chas & Dave.

Although North London team, Tottenham Hotspurs may not have reached this year’s FA Cup final, they did get there in 1981 and with that, Something for the Weekend is proud to present “Ossie’s Dream” as performed by Tottenham Hotspurs FC (featuring Chas & Dave – naturally).
The song is basically the bog standard old terrace singalong that used to be quite frequent upon a big match or tournament, but have become less so in recent years. It celebrates that fact that Argentine player Ossie Ardiles was leading Spurs’ attack and the team were going to defeat their sporting enemies – that’s pretty much all I could decipher.

Well, at least I hope they were going to defeat their sporting enemies as opposed to anyone else…

About Leigh O'Gorman

Give me motor racing, music and Doctor Who anytime

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Coming Soon (Probably):

Beat Happening "Pinebox Derby"
bis "This is Fake D.I.Y."
Cabaret Voltaire "Nag Nag Nag"
Donna Summer "I Feel Love"
Electrelane (undecided)
Heloise & the Savoir Faire "Odyle"
Kortatu "Nicaragua Sandinista"
Logikparty "Anti Omerta"
Madness (undecided)
Make the Girl Dance "Wall of Death"
One Way System "No Return"
Peter and the Test Tube Babies "Shit British Tour"
PiL (undecided)
Queen of Hearts "Neon"
Sigue Sigue Sputnik "Love Missile F1-11"
Throbbing Gristle "Discipline"
Twin Crystals (undecided)

Archives

Artists, Genres & Years

